Jesus Christ

I am a Christian. I am a Christian who is not afraid to challenge what she believes. I am a Christian who is not afraid to challenge what she believes and what she is meant to believe.

If you really despise Christians and Christianity but don’t know enough about the religion to do anything about it, it’s your lucky day because this is a piece written just for you.

I will not be too philosophical about the religion because I do not have a degree in Christianity and theology. However, I would like to start off by saying that although I am willing and actually do challenge my beliefs, my religion, I still am Christian and want to become a stronger Christian.

I have touched upon so many of the aspects people, both Christians and nonChristians, misunderstand about in my previous posts but I will just restate them so that we are all on the first page.

Christians use the Bible as a weapon all the time. But many of the time, people do so without actually knowing so much or understanding so much about it. One of the biggest ways Christians use the Bible to attack people is when they confront homosexual people. “God hates gay people,” they say. Every time someone says that I want to cross my arms, cock my head to the side and ask, “Oh really? Where’s the proof? Unless God whispered to you that he absolutely despises these people, there is no evidence.”

Why you ask? There are several points but I will only mention two.

First, the Bible never says anything like how homosexual people will rot in hell. There was this one time in the book of Genesis where two angels blind a whole city of gay people. But that was because these gay people wanted to rape the two angels; it had nothing to do with their sexuality. If a city full of men were trying to rape two women, I’m sure angels would still have blinded them all.

Second, God tells people to love one another and to not hate anyone. So why would he hate gay people? God isn’t a hypocrite so there is no way he has ever and will ever say that.

Another confusing part about Christianity is using the Lord’s name in vain. Since I was a small child, I learned the Ten Commandments. The fourth commandment states, “Do not use the Lord’s name in vain.” And all these Sunday school teachers teach their students to never say “Oh my God,” or “Jesus Christ,” or “Jesus fucking Christ,” and you get the gist.

I say these phrases, though not all, in my everyday life and I am not trying to justify my actions through this point. But is saying the Trinity’s name every time we are shocked the only way we use the Lord’s name in vain?

I say no because so many Christians use the Lord’s name in vain in different ways. If you live your everyday life full of actions that are viewed as bad to even the nonChristians and claim that you are a born again Christian at the end of the day, that is using the Lord’s name in vain. You do not have to physically use the titles God, Jesus, and Holy Spirit; you can just be a really bad Christian.

For example, if everyone knows that you have been playing with a girl’s feelings and that you have led her on although all you want is her body and claim that you are a Christian, you just defied the fourth commandment. If you tell everyone that you have become a Christian but no one realized until you told them, you just defied the fourth commandment because that would mean that there was no difference between the nonChristian you and the born again Christian you. So stop. Stop one thing or another because you are using the Lord’s name in vain.

I feel like a hypocrite, I must say, condemning all these Christians when I also fit into some of these categories I am bashing. But hey, at least I’m willing to admit it.

Another one of the confusions Christians have is how often they should go to church. Some say and believe every other week and others every week. The Bible never actually says a particular amount but does certainly say that the seventh day of every week is the sabbath where people rest and praise God. So I guess he does indirectly say how many times a week. But this indirectness leaves room for misinterpretations. don’t you think?

The Bible also never says that alcohol is bad and that people should not drink it. In fact, Jesus’ first miracle was turning water into wine for a wedding party. He also drank wine, a type of alcohol. Then why do Christians not like the idea of drinking?

Let me tell you why. It is not the action of drinking that we Christians rebuke. It is the act of losing control. Once you are drunk, you cannot control your actions or think straight. Your morals would have been thrown out of the window in a blink of an eye. Drugs have the same effect, as we all know. God wants us to be in control of the mind he gave us.

However, God also gifted us with our physical bodies. It is capable of doing and feeling so many things; it is amazing whether we like ours or not. But alcohol and drugs — which by the way include caffeine and nicotine — ruin our bodies; it ruins what could have once been perfect. If we gave someone a present that is one of a kind, we wouldn’t like to see it be treated like absolute uselessness where is it tossed around and thrown in fires, you know?

I just wish that Christians would do a little more research before throwing verses out there meant to stab someone’s consciousness. With a little context, people could easily knock your argument out. Not only that, the Bible is not a spear. At most, it should be a shield. Yet every day I witness someone beating down another with the Bible, sometimes even literally.

I also believe that once more people in the Christian community are willing to challenge the beliefs and morals of their religion, Christianity will learn to look back at itself and realize what they are doing wrong.

We, Christians, need to read and learn about the Bible more and stand up to things we do not believe is correct.

One comment

  1. redexblogke · May 22

    Hey Hanny! This is a really interesting read; I hope you continue to challenge and “research” about your beliefs. Good job using concrete examples and ultimately tying everything back to one idea. This is not an editing detail, but you said that the Bible isn’t a spear, but a shield at most. In the context of this post and situations like the ones you described, I (mostly) agree, but I don’t know if that statement is always true. Considering that it’s described as “the sword of the Spirit”. Overall, awesome post; I’m glad you’re able to take into account many perspectives. – Carmel

    Like

Leave a Reply

