Google It

These days in the 21st century, there is a lot of information out there. In fact, there is too much information out there.

That was such a vague statement but just hear me out. When we get a research project in school, whichever subject it may be, we all have a tendency to sit down and stare at the prompt, with absolutely no idea of where to start.

Why is that? That’s because if we just type the prompt into a Google search, we will actually get nothing we need. Okay, okay, nothing may be too strong of a word to use here. But the information we get will definitely be superficial. It will only skim the surface and if we were to write an essay about this, half of the things written down will be either made up or concluded.

I remember in 3rd grade, I had to do a research project about an animal of Kenya and I chose a flamingo. There are two things I remember from that project. One, a flamingo has only one nostril. It has two holes, but it’s one long one. This is because when it’s feeding, it’s whole beak is in water and it needs the water to pass through, not remaining inside.

Two, the thing I inserted in the Google search read, “flamingos animal of Kenya but not the hotel also a big bird.” It was actually crazy. Even back then as a 3rd grader, I remember looking at my search engine and feeling slightly more stupid than normal.

There are a lot of hotels called Flamingo all over the world. So it makes sense that when I type in “flamingo” into the search engine, I’ll just get results about hotels on the coast of some country. And when I am actually looking for a hotel, it’ll give me results about the bird. Google tends to hate its clients at times.That’s why I tried to be the most specific I could be.

Even now, as an 11th grade student, I hopelessly search Google for hours and barely get any information out of it. It may partially be because I get distracted by the internet in general, but it also is that there’s too much information, too much of which is not what I actually want.

For example, my English class recently got a research project. We are to research about how an American poet rebels to society. Good luck finding that on Google. To actually get information on this, I can’t type in, “How does Shel Silverstein rebel to society?” and actually expect to get some great information.

Instead, I have to come up with different research facts that will eventually all connect with and lead to the big final question. That’s why research papers take forever. It doesn’t take that long to write, but it takes forever to gather information that is actually fully relevant to and fit for the occasion, sadly.

So as the writer and creator of a research paper and project, I have to go that far for the information and facts because there will be people reading my work and believing it.

Honestly, I’m actually not sure if the nostril fact is a fact or something my creative 3rd grade mind made up, so don’t take my word for it. But as a reader, you believed it because it was something new, something cool.

Word of the Day: rasasvada
(n.) the taste of bliss in the absence of all thoughts
2 comments

  1. Mira B · February 27

    I like how there was no mention of post-truth anywhere! Nice job leaving it out. I knew what you were talking about.
    I’m curious, do your ‘word of the day’ sections ever have to do with your actual post? At first they were really interesting, but now they are just slightly weird and in the way. “These days in the 21st century, there is a lot of information out there.” This sentence sounds awkward and threw me off for the entire post. Maybe adding a comma after ‘days’ could help with the flow. Logical read though, well done.

    Like

  2. liannehaak · February 27

    Hanny, the flamingo stuff is hilarious. I might have to go look up if flamingos do in fact only have one nostril. The fact that you added all the flamingo stuff is a really neat way of keeping the audience’s attention, while also explaining your opinions on research papers and how google sucks. Well done using the flamingo example, it works really well. Your post flows logically and interestingly. I do agree with you that your first statement is a little vague. I think you could probably replace it in a way that it is less vague, and then you wouldn’t have to worry about saying it is vague. Or, another way would be to insert it somewhere else. Your post could easily start with “When we get a research paper . . . “. I hope that makes sense! But really well done, such a fun and relatable post to read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

