Christmas in the HaHaHaHa Family

My family consists of four girls: Hanny, Habin, Hajin, and Haju. Because of our names, we are often referred to as the HaHaHaHa Family. The interpretation, of course, is up to whoever hears it, but it usually means a family full of laughter: a family full of happiness.

When I was in 3rd grade, I woke up the day after Christmas, and there was a bicycle sitting right in front of my door. The back had a small container made of plastic designed to carry things and it had my name written on it. I remember squealing to my parents telling about how Santa Clause knew my name.

The next year, I got a Garfield pajama set. It was cozy and rather pinkish. I loved that thing so much, I remember how it looks so clearly. Sadly, not too long after, I found the box it came in in my parent’s drawer.

I was a pretty smart kid who caught onto things pretty quick. Imagine the despair on my face. Yeah, sure, 4th grade is kind of late for me to realize Santa isn’t real, but I’m rather glad my parents told me Santa was real even if it was a big fat lie. Every Christmas, I looked forward to Santa’s coming.

So now, every Christmas in the HaHaHaHa Family, we buy each and every family member gifts. And since we are a family of 6, we buy gifts for 5 people and receive gifts from 5 as well. Yes, a lot of money goes out, but a lot comes in too.

Though I must admit, I am slowly running out of things and money to buy presents for my family. For the Christmas of 2016, I also bought my family these presents:

  1. Father: Buying him a tie every Christmas is just tradition for me, even if he doesn’t wear ties too often. He also loves to construct and craft things, so I got him superglue since he ran out.
  2. Mother: …I couldn’t find something for her so I gave her a promise to get her something sooner or later.
  3. Daughter 2: A branch of fake cherry blossoms and a pink marble patterned clip board.
  4. Daughter 3: My sweater she loved to wear and a purple marble patterned clip board.
  5. Daughter 4: A pearl bracelet and some squishy things to play around with whenever.

However, this gift giving process doesn’t happen until right before New Years because we all go to our mission camp and spend Christmas with the people of Sosoma in the tribe of Kamba.

There, I usually become Santa’s elf. I spend a day packing Christmas presents. And on Christmas night, my father dresses up as Santa, big white beard and all, I help him pass out the presents to the kids there. Like I said, I kind of become Santa’s elf.

Other people may view these traditions as stupid. Why spend so much money on people you literally see every day? And why spend Christmas without water or electricity? I guess I can kind of see where their views come from, but I certainly don’t mind. I have fun and love doing these things and so does my family. And that’s just about all that matters when there is a tradition in the HaHaHaHa family.

Word of the Day: woodnote
(n.) a wild or natural musical tone, as that of a forest bird.
3 comments

  1. eunoia · January 27

    Hanny, I love how you started this post. It made me happy reading about your family traditions, especially because they are very different from mine. The descriptions you gave of your Christmas memories as a child create a sort of nostalgic feeling. I also love how you give back on Christmas, to the people of Sosoma. I don’t think people see your traditions as stupid, because giving gifts to family members is a worldwide tradition for families that celebrate Christmas. Well done though!

    Like

  2. Jonathan · January 29

    Well done Hanny. I really appreciated the way you started off your post. The way you create a portal into your family’s Christmas tradition is wonderful and allows for me to paint a detailed picture of your Christmas season. It’s quite interesting to imagine your dad in a Santa outfit. There was one punctuation problem at the end. In the last sentence you could have combined that sentence with the previous sentence and put a comma before the “and.” Another option is taking out the “and” then capitalizing the “t” in “that’s.” Keep up the good work.

    Like

  3. Karith Magnuson · February 2

    I love that you are the HaHaHaHa family. =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

