Advanced Placement English Language and Composition

Education is not granted to everyone. But it definitely is taken for granted often.

And I, too, take education for granted. I can’t help it; school is boring and often requires me to stay up either doing homework or studying for tests I will fail anyways. Just for your information, I suck at taking tests.

But guess what class doesn’t give tests: Advanced Placement English Language and Composition, also known as AP Lang.

We get vocabulary quizzes but that’s about it. It’s also not too often we have to take those quizzes. Plus, 15 words a week really isn’t too hard. Bahaha that’s a total lie. I failed half of those quizzes.

As far as tests go, that’s the only quizzing you get, apart from the AP exam given by CollegeBoard at the end of the year which contains reading comprehension and three essays. But that’s optional so…

Because it’s a composition class, the people in charge of AP’s apparently don’t care about reading literature works. Therefore, there hasn’t been a lot of book reading assignments. However, we have to read multiple essays and annotate them. And if we do read a book, instead of looking at the actual story line, we focus more on how the author wrote the book.

This makes most if not all of our projects and in class discussions about literary devices–imagery, tone, diction, connotation, etc.

The class’ main point is to write and surprisingly, I started with the biggest writer’s block. I used to be able to just stitch words together and formulate a poem, short story, and just… most types of writing. But ever since the beginning of my Freshmen year, that “skill” was no longer owned by me. I… don’t really know why.

And then it was the beginning of my Junior year where I walked into the AP Lang classroom, an empty binder in one hand and a frustrating writer’s block in the other. As a student of a college level writing class, we were required to do a lot of work.

I must say, I started the year on the wrong foot. We had two summer assignments, one of which we had to read a nonfiction book and post a small summary of it on a classroom site. I did it during the first half of summer, and had fun all summer, forgetting everything about the book. But turns out, something went wrong and the post did not post. Thus, I started with an F, a 0% in the class.

Once the class actually started, we needed to write different kinds of essays. I also failed that. Previously, I had enough essay knowledge to ace essays with a writers’s block. However, now that I was in a college level class, my essays had to be in the college level, and it was to be graded with a college rubric.

Yeah, sucks to be me. My essay grades aren’t that impressive anymore. But now that the first semester is ending, I look back and I am rather impressed at myself. At this point in time, I have learned more about writing and my essay skills have improved greatly. Looking back at the first couple essays I did, I really don’t understand how I got the grades I did; I was such a horrible writer back then.

Basically, this class has taught me how to cope with my writer’s block instead of overcome it. It has made me feel like I can actually live with this stupid writer’s block. I honestly don’t know if that’s a good thing or not. I know how to survive with it, but now I don’t feel the need to recover and get over it. Maybe it’s both.

Word of the Day: soigné
(adj.) possessing an aura of sophistication in dress, manner, or design; presented or prepared with an elegance attained through care for the finer details
One comment

  1. Karith Magnuson · December 6

    Strong opening, Hanny. One element to keep an eye on is that you have a tendency to use passive construction, at least occasionally (“that ‘skill’ was no longer owned by me”). Passive construction has a tendency to leave sentences more wordy and convoluted than they need to be — as well as leaching the energy out of the sentence. So aim for active voice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

