Count Your Blessings

  1. I am thankful for my family: all five of them.
  2. I am thankful for the way my family is; we love to talk and just be in each others presence.
  3. I am thankful for my sisters; they love me and I love them.
  4. I am thankful for my grandmother. Though she is awfully ill, she is still alive. She also loves me tremendously.
  5. I am thankful for my friends: each and every one of them.
  6. I am thankful for being a Korean. The Korean passport is rather useful.
  7. I am thankful for being able to speak, write, and read Korean.
  8. I am thankful for being able to speak, write, and read English.
  9. I am thankful for being able to learn to speak, write, and read French.
  10. I am thankful for living in Kenya. It is a beautiful and peaceful country.
  11. I am thankful for being a student of Rosslyn Academy. The pressure of grades and perfection is not enforced as much as elsewhere.
  12. I am thankful for being a Christian.
  13. I am thankful for being able to be a Christian. Some people don’t even get the chance the to consider it.
  14. I am thankful for being a third culture kid. I have been to so many places, seen so many things, and done so many things most other teenagers haven’t.
  15. I am thankful for having a house. Some people worry about paying rents, but we own a house since we bought an apartment about five years ago.
  16. I am thankful for having food all the time. Sure, our fridge goes empty once in a while, but I have never starved against my will before.
  17. I am thankful for having a mother who enjoys cooking. I have seen mothers who always order pizza and burgers because she doesn’t want to cook for her two poor sons.
  18. I am thankful for having a mother who is good at cooking. She not only enjoys cooking, but also is good at it. My mother’s food is always good and fulfilling.
  19. I am thankful for nature. The beauty of it all is mesmerizing and often breathtaking.
  20. I am thankful for having clothes to wear. With the height and body type I have, clothes rarely fit me. But I never have to walk about going to school naked because I do not have clothes.
  21. I am thankful for my education. As a Junior with more than eleven years of learning, I can tell you how much my education helps. Plus, women all around the world are denied their education.
  22. I am thankful for my school. Though over 60 years old, it is still beautiful and always improving.
  23. I am thankful for being healthy. Yeah, I have asthma and allergies, but I do not have a disability that greatly impacts my daily life.
  24. I am thankful for having all of my senses. I can see, hear, and feel. My taste buds and smelling skills are outstanding.
  25. I am thankful for being able to sing. I may not be the best, but I certainly am not tone deaf or horrible… I hope.
  26. I am thankful for being able to play guitar. Again, I may not be the best, but I can read and play most music.
  27. I am thankful for having my phone. Although my phone always malfunctions, it still helps me communicate with everyone.
  28. I am thankful for getting a better phone: not a new one, but a better one. Sadly, there went all my savings.
  29. I am thankful for WiFi. I get to talk to people across the world, read the news, and learn more new things daily.
  30. I am thankful for PowerSchool. It is very much like a drug where it is harmful to me, yet I cannot stop. It constantly updates me on my grades and shows me which teachers I should consider buying chocolate for.
  31. I am thankful for words. A way to express myself, said or written, is always nice.
  32. I am thankful for Jesus. He died on the cross for our, for my, sins and gave us eternal life. No one could have ever given a better present.
  33. I am thankful for pork. I awkwardly always crave pork in one form or another. I feel sorry for those who have never tasted it before.
  34. I am thankful for books. It helps me enter a world totally made up, totally in my head. It expands my imagination.
  35. I am thankful for loving food. Although this causes the number on the weight scale to keep going up and down, it is so satisfying. I can also always try new food wherever I go, since I welcome almost every food.
  36. I am thankful for having one and a half years left of high school. Awfully sad, yes, but it’s already my second and a half year in high school.
  37. I am thankful for being able to play most sports. Those students in Korea can barely to anything other than pretty much… study.
  38. I am thankful for the realm of acting. Being able to be someone else that is not you and get applauded for that is amazing.
  39. I am thankful for the life I have. Though we all go through a suicidal phase at least once in our lifetimes, I value my life now and know the preciousness of it.
  40. I am thankful for being loved. Wherever I turn, I am surrounded by people. Some may not care about me at all, but there is always at least one person loving me and being on my side.
  41. I am thankful for electricity. I can live and function in the night as if it were the morning.
  42. I am thankful for being in leadership groups: Student Leadership Team, National Honor Society, Worship Team, etc. I get to use my leadership skills to help and be the voice of others
  43. I am thankful for this earth. It contains so many lives and beauty, it’s impossible to describe in just a few words.
  44. I am thankful for music. It can be an escape sometimes, helping us to think in different angles and different situations.
  45. I am thankful for never running out of money. Sure, I feel bad asking for expensive school trips and I sometimes don’t even, but I never have to worry if our family will have a house to live in tomorrow, food to eat tomorrow, car to ride tomorrow, school to go to tomorrow, and so forth.
  46. I am thankful for surviving the WestGate terrorist attack. Though my case was not as extreme as those of others, I still survived and made it out perfectly unharmed.
  47. I am thankful for not getting carsick, airsick, or seasick. I can travel just about anywhere and I adore the art of traveling.
  48. I am thankful for being respected: as a female, as a student, as a friend, as a family, as a teenager, and etc.
  49. I am thankful for always getting the possibility to hope. The glimmer of light never fades away.
  50. I am thankful for second chances. Really, the chances I get are never ending. I never have to worry about the world crumbling beneath my feet because of a small mistake I made.
Leave a Reply

